This gallery is something I’ve wanted to do for a while as I’ve found very few articles online comparing the three incarnations of the TWIN MILL.

If you’re new to Hot Wheels and wanting to start a collection, you really gotta have a version of Twin Mill to get you going. Its an important model in Hot Wheels history and worth dedicating a bit of shelf space to.

TWIN MILL is a hugely popular and iconic model being one of the first original designs devised from scratch by Hot Wheels in 1969. With the exception of the ’80s, the original Twin Mill has seen multiple releases in every decade since it’s inception and continues to appear on pegs to this day alongside it’s counterpart Twin Mill III. Twin Mill II was retired in 2006.

A brief disclaimer: these images are of my own cars. These are not early versions nor are they definitive representations of the models. They’re just the ones I own. The colours and wheels have changed across the multiple releases of Twin Mill I, II and III but the basic castings remain the same.

Let’s have a quick glimpse at the three versions of Twin Mill side by side.

TWIN MILL I

TWIN MILL II

TWIN MILL III
As you can see, across the three generations of Twin Mill the concept remains the same: twin big block engines, low sleek lines and an aggressive stance. Which version is best is entirely subjective. Personally, I feel Twin Mill II is the weakest of the three and I think its retirement in 2006 is reflective of that. I’m sure I’m not the only one to hold that view!

TWIN MILL I 1969 – present



TWIN MILL II 1993 – 2006


TWIN MILL III 2008 – present



BONUS: TWIN MILL I – BOULEVARD EDITION with Real Rider wheels

 

So there you have it. An up close look at the three generations of TWIN MILL. Does a TWIN MILL IV await us in the near future? I think given the popularity of the Twin Mill concept, its a given.

As a side note, so popular has the Twin Mill become that Hot Wheels/Mattel have commissioned a full size working version which they display at trade shows. Bad. Ass.

7263515824_6553672282_c
Gimme the keys. Now.

twin_mill
An early 1969 Redline Twin Mill in Spectraflame Gold.
 

